«

»

Feb 07

#SHRMChat: Conferences

SHRMThe 2014 HR Conference season is looming and for those chapters and state councils who are in the planning stages know how time consuming, exhausting, frustrating and rewarding these events can be. For most of us, our annual conferences, whether they are one day, or multi-day, bring in the majority of revenue that sustains our associations’ operations for the year.  So advanced planning and marketing are critical to its success.

There are several key components that make a chapter or council conference successful; planning, content, relevant speakers, sponsors and networking opportunities.  Location can also play a factor in participation and ability to bring in the amount attendees needed to ensure financial success.

While there are always many questions related to conferences, here are the ones that seem to be most topical for chapters and councils:

  • Q1 – What are the biggest challenges facing conference planning for chapters and councils today?
  • Q2 – What resources are being used to source speakers with relevant and current content?
  • Q3 – How do you attract sponsors to your chapter conference?
  • Q4 – What types of resources are used to market your conference?
  • Q5 – Is there a formula/model for a successful conference experience?

SHRMChat will take place at 8PM EDT, 7 PM CDT, 6 PM MDT and 5 PM PDT on the second Tuesday of the month. (This month, February 11th, 2014)

About the Mouth


carol_mcdanielCarol McDaniel is the Senior Vice President at Kinetix – a Recruitment Process Outsourcing firm.  Carol’s background combines extensive Human Resource consulting, recruiting, marketing and advertising expertise.  With her strong understanding of the many challenges in today’s competitive labor market environment she is considered a subject matter expert in the employer marketing and branding process.  This expertise has proved to play a crucial role in the development of talent management and acquisition strategies for her clients.  Carol is a frequent speaker at HR and SHRM events, national programs and training seminars to focus on the areas of talent acquisition and talent communications. Carol also volunteers her time with the HR Florida State Council and serves on the Executive committee as the the President-Elect.  Read more from Carol here.

Share

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>